Are Bovine Collagen Supplements Halal?

Fatwa ID: 03374

Answered by: Maulana Irfan Ali

 

Question

Assalamu Alaikum Warahmatullahi Wabarakatuh,

Are bovine collagen supplements halal? Collagen peptide supplements are typically derived from bovine connective tissue or fish, from marine collagen.

 

بِسْمِ اللهِ الرَّحْمنِ الرَّحِيْم

In the name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful 

 

 

 

Answer:

Wa Alaikum Salam Warahmatullahi Wabarakatuh

The ruling regarding food is that the product which is consumed contains no haram substance. Certain foods cannot be ruled halal until a full description of its ingredients is given. Upon research, it has come to light that there are many products which consist of the same name and to some, there are halal ingredients and to some haram. Therefore, it makes it difficult to differentiate between which product is asked regarding.

 

 

Only Allah knows best

Written by Maulana Irfan Ali

Checked and approved by Mufti Mohammed Tosir Miah

Darul Ifta Birmingham

Comments are closed.