Are bovine collagen supplements halal?

Fatwa ID: 03169

Answered by:  Maulana Irfan Ali​

Question:

Are bovine collagen supplements halal?

Collagen peptide supplements are typically derived from bovine connective tissue or fish, from marine collagen.

 

Answer:

In The Name Of Allah, The Most-Merciful, The Most Kind

 

The ruling regarding the food is that the product which is consumed contains no haram substance. Certain foods cannot be ruled halal until a full description of its ingredients is given. Upon research it has come to light there are many products which consist of the same name and to some there are halal ingredients and to some haram. Therefore it makes it difficult to differentiate between which product the question is regarding.

 

Only Allah knows best

Written by Maulana Irfan Ali

Checked and approved by Mufti Mohammed Tosir Miah

Darul Ifta Birmingham

 

 

Comments are closed.