Are high chews halal

Fatwa ID: 03052

Answered by:  Maulana Irfan Ali

Question:

Assalamu Alaikum Wa Rahmatullah

Are high chews halal?

Answer:

بسم الله الرحمن الرحيم

In the name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful.

Assalamualaikum Wa Rahmatullahi Wa Barakaatuh

In pertaining to halal sweets it’s important to understand the ingredients only then it can be determined as to being haram or halal.

In regards to the above mentioned sweet the company hi chews replied to a FAQ regarding its ingredients in which it was asked what type of gelatin is used in the product to which the company replied hi chew products contain pork gelatin (www.hi-chew.com/faq)

Allah says in the Quran that he has forbidden you only dead animals, and blood and the swine, and that which is slaughtered as a sacrifice for other than god (Surah Baqarah verse 173).

 

Therefore the sweet high would be impermissible to consume.

 

Only Allah knows best

Written by Maulana Irfan Ali

Checked and approved by Mufti Mohammed Tosir Miah

Darul Ifta Birmingham

Comments are closed.