Champagne chocolates halal or haram

Fatwa ID: 02493

Answered by: Ustadha Umm Abdullah

Question:

Is marc de champagne ingredient in thorntons premium chocolate halal?

Answer

بسم الله الرحمن الرحي

Marc de Champagne is a brandy made as a by-product of the Champagne making process by using the discarded seeds and skins. 

Brandy is an alcoholic drink that contains 30%-60% alcohol typically extracted from fermented grapes, apples and other sugary fruits. [1]

Chocolates that contain this ingredient will be haraam (unlawful) to consume.

Only Allah Ta’ala knows best

Ustadha Umm Abdullah

Checked and approved by Mufti Mohammed Tosir Miah

Darul Ifta Birmingham

[1] https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Brandy

Comments are closed.