Eating at a restaurant which serves alcohol

Fatwa ID: 02961

Answered by:  Maulana Tahsin Alam​

Question:

Assalamu Alaikum Wa Rahmatullah

My family and I travel frequently. We eat either vegetarian or Halal food at times in a place where such food is served so is alcohol. Even in certified halal restaurants, there's alcohol. In cities such as London,

Hong Kong it's hard to find eateries without alcohol served. Is it permissible to eat from here? Can we takeaway food from such places? And eat elsewhere?

Answer:

بسم الله الرحمن الرحيم

In the name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful.

One should attempt to avoid eating at restaurants that serve alcohol, due to the strict prohibitions found in the Qur’ān and Sunnah regarding alcohol. It will be permissible to eat at such restaurants, albeit its avoidance is better and rewardable. Consuming such food should also be done elsewhere than in the restaurant itself if possible.[1]

 

Only Allah SWT alone knows best.

Written by Maulana Tahsin Alam

Checked and approved by Mufti Mohammed Tosir Miah

Darul Ifta Birmingham

 


[1]ضابط الإعانة على الحرام على مذهب أبي حنيفة رضي الله عنه، هو:

أن ما قامت المعصية بعينه فمكروه كبيع الخمر والمزاميز. ومعنى بعينه: أن عينه منكرا

لا تقبل إلا الفعل المحظور.

وأن ما لم تقم المعصية بعينه فغير مكروه، ويطيب أجره، ومعنى ذلك؛ أن عينه ليست منكرا،

بأن المقصود الأصلي منها ليس المعصية، وإنما هي أمر عارض يحصل بفعل

فاعل مختار فتنقطع نسبته عن البائع أو غيره.

(خلاصة الكلام في مسالة الاعانة على الحرام للدكتور صلاح محمد ابو الحاج)

وأما ما روي عن عمر بن الخطاب رضي الله عنه قال: قال النبي صلى الله عليه وسلم: " من كان يؤمن بالله واليوم الآخر، فلا يقعد على مائدة يشربعليها الخمر." رواه أحمد، فهو بالنسبة إلى مائدة وهي "الخوان: عليه الطعام والشراب" (معجم الوسيط). فلا يدل صريحا على تحريم الشراء من مطعم الذي يبيع الخمر، خاصة إن كان الأكل في موضع آخر دون المطعم. والله تعالى أعلم بالصواب.

 

 

Comments are closed.