Fermentation of Soya Sauce.

Fatwa ID: 03085

Answered by:  Maulana Mustafa Umar​

Question:

Assalamu Alaikum Wa Rahmatullah

Soya sauce, some of the companies brew them causing fermentation, would that be permitted?

 

Answer:

بسم الله الرحمن الرحيم

In the name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful.

Assalamualaikum Wa Rahmatullahi Wa Barakaatuh

The process of fermentation does not cause a product to become impermissible [haram] to consume. The problem of whether the product turns into wine or intoxicates like wine. Imam Quduri says, “When wine becomes vinegar it is lawful…it is not disapproved to make wine into vinegar.” [Mukhtasar al-Quduri p. 564, Ta-Ha Publishers 2010] Wine turns into vinegar through fermentation but loses its intoxicating quality. Therefore, even though soy sauce is produced through fermentation, since it cannot intoxicate and does not resemble wine in any significant way, it is allowed to consume.

 

Only Allah knows best

Written by Maulana Mustafa Umar

Checked and approved by Mufti Mohammed Tosir Miah

Darul Ifta Birmingham

 

Comments are closed.