If an ingredient contains alcohol due to the fermentation process is it still haraam?

Fatwa ID: 03022

Answered by:  Maulana Muddasser Dhedhy​

Question:

Assalamu Alaikum Wa Rahmatullah

if an ingredient contains alcohol due to the fermentation process is it still haraam? The alcohol has not been added in and it evaporates when cooked.

Answer:

بسم الله الرحمن الرحيم

In the name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful.

 

Alcohol that is not permissible for consumption is alcohol which is sourced from dates or grapes.

If the alcohol that has developed in the item during the fermentation comes from another source (other than dates and grapes) and it is not present in the final product to such an amount that will cause intoxication, then it will be permissible to consume that item.

Also, if after processing the alcohol is converted into a completely different substance such that it is no longer considered to be alcohol then it will be permissible to consume this item.[1]

 

Only Allah Ta'ala knows best.

Written by Maulana Muddasser Dhedhy

Checked and approved by Mufti Mohammed Tosir Miah

Darul Iftā Birmingham

 

 


[1] لأن الأشربة المتخذة من غير العنب والتمر تحل عند أبي حنيفة وأبي يوسف بقصد التقوي أو التداوي، ما لم تبلغ حد الإسكار وإن معظم الكحول المستعملة في الأدوية اليوم لا تصنع من عنب ولا تمر، وإنما تصنع من السلفات والكبريتات، والعسل، والدبس، والحب، والشعير، والجودار، وغيرها. فإن كانت الكحول المستعملة في الأدوية متخذة من غير العنب والتمر فإن تناولها جائز في مذهب أبي حنيفة وأبي يوسف رحمهما الله، ما لم تبلغ حد الإسكار، ويمكن أن يؤخذ بقولهما لحاجة التداوي (بحوث في قضايا فقهية معاصرة ج 1ص 339-341. مكتبة دار العلوم كراتشي)

وبهذا يتبين حكم الكحول المسكرة التى عمت بها البلوى اليوم ، فإنها تستعمل فى كثير من الأدوية والعطور ، والمركبات الأخرى ، فإنها إن اتخذت من العنب أو التمر فلا سبيل إلى حلتها أو طهارتها ، وإن اتخذت من غيرهما فالأمر فيها سهل على مذهب أبى حنيفة رحمه الله تعالى ، ولا يحرم استعمالها للتداوى أو لأغراض مباحة أخرى ما لم تبلغ حد الإسكار ، لأنها إنما تستعمل مركبة مع المواد الأخرى ، ولا يحكم بنجاستها أخذا بقول أبى حنيفة رحمه الله . وإن معظم الكحول التى تستعمل اليوم فى الأدوية والعطور وغيرها لا تتخذ من العنب أو التمر ، إنما تتخذ من الحبوب أو القشور أو البترول وغيره ، كما ذكرنا فى باب بيع الخمر من كتاب البيوع ، وحينئذ هناك فسحة فى الأخذ بقول أبى حنيفة عند عموم البلوى ، والله سبحانه أعلم (تكملة فتح الملهم ج 3 ص 608. مكتبة دار العلوم كراجي)

 

 

Comments are closed.