If the sugar is made white by the bones char of pigs

Fatwa ID: 03086

Answered by:  Maulana Mustafa Umar​

Question:

Assalamu Alaikum Wa Rahmatullah

Sugar is made white by processing it through bone columns, if those bones were from pork would that sugar be ok?

 

Answer:

بسم الله الرحمن الرحيم

In the name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful.

Assalamualaikum Wa Rahmatullahi Wa Barakaatuh

According to this article https://www.huffpost.com/entry/sugar-vegan-bone-char-yikes_n_6391496 white refined sugar is filtered and bleached with bone char. According to Wikipedia.org, bone char may be made from cow or pig bones. If made from cow bones there is no problem since the bones, horns, and hair of animals that are halal remain pure after their death, even if they are not slaughtered properly. [Hidaayah 1:96] However, if it is made from pig bones, then this is not allowed since the bones of a pig are still considered impure. 

 

Only Allah knows best

Written by Maulana Mustafa Umar

Checked and approved by Mufti Mohammed Tosir Miah

Darul Ifta Birmingham

Comments are closed.