Is Apple Cider Halal?

Fatwa ID: 03866

Answered by: Maulana Moinul Abu Hamza

 

Question

Is apple cider halal?

 

بِسْمِ اللهِ الرَّحْمنِ الرَّحِيْم

In the name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful

 

Answer:

There are three well-known types of drinks that go by the name ‘Apple Cider’. The first is a non-alcoholic drink often consumed in the US.[1] The second type is Apple Cider Vinegar which is clearly permissible providing it is indeed vinegar, and the third type goes by the same name and contains alcohol and is obviously haram.[2]

The issue is not the ruling but the reality of which type is more commonly known where you live. For example, nearly all apple cider is impermissible in the UK because the name is used to refer to an alcoholic beverage.

 

 

Only Allah knows best

Written by Maulana Moinul Abu Hamza

Checked and approved by Mufti Mohammed Tosir Miah

Darul Ifta Birmingham

 

 

 


[1] https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Apple_cider

 

[2] https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cider

 

Comments are closed.