Is Beta Carotene Halal

Fatwa ID: 02436

Answered by: Mufti Mohammed Tosir Miah

Question:

Is Beta Carotene Halal

Answer

بسم الله الرحمن الرحيم

Beta Carotene itself is a halal ingredient because it is obtained from plants. Similarly, if it is mixed with vegetable oil or with fish then it is halal. However, if it is mixed with pork gelatin, then it will be haram. The only safe way is to look for a suitable for vegetarians label or ask the company the source of the beta carotene.

Only Allah Knows Best

Mufti Mohammed Tosir Miah

Darul Ifta Birmingham

Comments are closed.