Is E442 and E476 halal?

Fatwa ID: 03165

Answered by: Maulana Muqtaur Rahman

Question:

Is E442 and E476 halal

Answer:

In The Name Of Allah, The Most-Merciful, The Most Kind

 

E-Numbers represent specific food extracts, used by the food industry in the manufacturing of many food products. These E-Numbers are universally adopted by the food industry worldwide.

E442 is Ammonium phosphatides which are used as an Emulsifier. Usually obtained from ammonia and phosphorylated fatty acids. Rapeseed oil is the traditional fatty source although Muslims should take note as it can sometimes be made using glycerol which can be derived from animal or vegetable fats.

[https://www.vegsoc.org/info-hub/veggie-need-to-know/e-numbers/]

E476 is also used as an Emulsifier. This is made from synthetic vegetable fat.

Therefore, E442 is doubtful so nevertheless best to avoid and E476 is halal to consume.

 

Only Allah knows best

Written by Maulana Muqtaur Rahman

Checked and approved by Mufti MohammedTosir Miah

Darul Ifta Birmingham

Comments are closed.