Is E472 Halal?

Fatwa ID: 03769

Answered by: Maulana Moinul Abu Hamza

 

Question

Is E472 halal or haram?

 

بِسْمِ اللهِ الرَّحْمنِ الرَّحِيْم

In the name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful

 

Answer:

The preservatives E472 [a-e] Lactic acid esters of Mono-and Di-glycerides of fatty acids. They are prepared from esters of Glycerol (1). They can be from a vegetarian, synthetic or animal source. So one should lookout for a ‘suitable for vegetarians’ on the label as this would exclude the possibility of any ingredients coming from an animal source.

 

Our beloved `Prophet (PBUH) said: “Leave what makes you in doubt for what does not make you in doubt. The truth brings tranquillity while falsehood sows doubt.” (2) Shaykh Mannaawi (RH) commented on this hadith stating: “Leave that which makes you doubt” means: refrain from that which you are uncertain as to whether it is good or bad, halaal or haraam. It would, therefore, be best practice to avoid any food that contains E472 without a “suitable for vegetarians” sign on the packet as it leaves the possibility that it can contain ingredients from an animal source.

 

For further information: https://daruliftabirmingham.co.uk/cross-contamination-of-food-in-the-canteen/

 

 

Only Allah knows best

Written by Maulana Moinul Abu Hamza

Checked and approved by Mufti Mohammed Tosir Miah

Darul Ifta Birmingham

Comments are closed.