Is eating calamari halal?

Fatwa ID: 03084

Answered by: Molana Moinul Abu Hamza​

Question:

Assalamu Alaikum Wa Rahmatullah

Is eating calamari halal?

 

Answer:

بسم الله الرحمن الرحيم

In the name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful.

Assalamualaikum Wa Rahmatullahi Wa Barakaatuh

In the Hanafi madhab, fish is the only seafood that is halal to consume. Therefore, calamari would not be permitted according to Hanafis (1) However, there are other views within the Hanafi school that suggest prawns and other foodstuffs not considered to be fish are in fact considered to be part of the category of fish from a linguistic perspective. Maulana Ashraf Ali Thanwi (RA) has said it is permissible to consume prawns (2) so the same would apply to Calamari.

(1)“The game of the sea and its eating has been made lawful for you.” (Surah Maaidah v.96)

(2)(Imdadul Fatawa p.103 v.4)

 

Only Allāh Ta’ālā knows best

Written by Molana Moinul Abu Hamza

Checked and approved by Mufti Mohammed Tosir Miah

Dārul Iftā Birmingham

Comments are closed.