Is eating pizza hut vegetarian pizza halal?

Fatwa ID: 03028

Answered by: Maulana Imran Mughal​

Question:

Assalamu Alaikum Wa Rahmatullah

Is eating pizza hut vegetarian pizza [halal]?

Is there a high level of contamination or not?

Answer:

بسم الله الرحمن الرحيم

In the name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful.

Assalamualaikum Wa Rahmatullahi Wa Barakaatuh

Contamination can occur in a variety of different ways when it comes to cross-contamination between halal and haram foods. In the case of fast-food restaurants, their prime goal is to serve food and do so quickly in order to satisfy the customer.

This fact, coupled with the fact that most of the people working at such restaurants do not have the knowledge of Shariah and therefore will not understand what may constitute contamination will definitely serve as a wake-up call for Muslims to stay away from places like these altogether.

However, if a person can verify that a certain restaurant is able to make sure that no contamination happens between halal and haram foods then it may be permissible to eat from there.

At the same time, the position of taqwa and ihtiyat(caution)will be to distance yourself from such an issue seeing as there is a possibility of consuming that which is haram.

The consumption of doubtful items makes it easier for a person to consume that which is haram and has a negative spiritual effect on Muslims.

Each restaurant will definitely have a different method on how they make sure that cross-contamination has not occurred. So, a blanket ruling cannot be given on another franchise whatsoever.

 

Only Allāh Ta’ālā knows best

Written by Maulana Imran Mughal

Checked and approved by Mufti Mohammed Tosir Miah

Dārul Iftā Birmingham

Comments are closed.