Is Paan Halal

Fatwa ID: 04560

Answered by: Mufti Mohammed Tosir Miah

 

Question

 

Is Paan Halal

 

                                                               

In the name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful

 

 

Answer

 

In the aforementioned scenario, it will be considered permissible and certainly not Makruh Tahrimi or unlawful to consume paan. The reason is simple and that is the aforementioned harm regarding paan is not definite (qatee), but is uncertain.

 

If this was the case even consuming meat will be unlawful. Click on the following link to find out why:

http://www.independent.co.uk/life-style/health-and-families/health-news/excessive-meateating-kills-45000-each-year-2110289.html

 

However, if the paan has tobacco fillings inside then without a doubt it will be unlawful to chew it.

 

 

Only Allah Knows Best

Written by Mufti Mohammed Tosir Miah

Darul Ifta Birmingham

 

 

 

Comments are closed.