Is Pharmaceutical grade gelatin halal or haram?

Fatwa ID: 02730

Answered by: Moulana Muhammad Imad Ali

Question:

Assalamu Alaikum Wa Rahmatullah!

Is Pharmaceutical grade gelatin halal or haram?

بِسْمِ اللهِ الرَّحْمنِ الرَّحِيْم

In the name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful.

Answer:

Assalamu Alaikum Wa Rahmatullahi Wa Barakaatuh,

Pharmaceutical grade gelatin may contain bovine, which is derived from beef, so therefore, it won't be suitable for vegetarians.

Gelatin, whether bovine or otherwise (pork/chicken varieties) are all considered to be non-veg. Most vegetarians will not eat since it is made from the hooves, bones or skin of the afore-mentioned animals.

 

Only Allah knows best

Answered by Moulana Muhammad Imad Ali

Checked and approved by Mufti Tosir Miah

Darul Ifta Birmingham

Comments are closed.