Is Shellac Halal

Fatwa ID: 04533

Answered by: Mufti Mohammed Tosir Miah

 

Question 

 

Is Shellac halal? 

                                                                بِسْمِ اللهِ الرَّحْمنِ الرَّحِيْم

In the name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful

 

Answer

 

Shellac is a resinous compound secreted by the female lac bug to form its cocoon. Shellac is used as a coating on medicines and candies. Shellac ranges in color from very light blond to very dark brown, with all shades of brown and yellow and orange and red in between. The color is influenced by the sap of the tree the lac bug is living on, as well as the time of harvest.

 

Shellac will be considered to be a “Hawwam” which is an Arabic word referring to domestic pests such as insects, rodents, reptiles, worms, spiders, and other crawling slithering animals.

 

It is unlawful to consume vermin and domestic pests. They come under the word “Khabaith which Allah (SWA) has prohibited in the Holy Qur’an.” (Surah Araf v.157)

 

 

Only Allah Knows Best

Written by Mufti Mohammed Tosir Miah

Darul Ifta Birmingham

 

Comments are closed.