Is vitamin D3 from sheep wool halal?

Fatwa ID: 02742

Answered by: Maulana Muddasser Dhedhy

Question:

Assalamu Alaikum Wa Rahmatullah!

Can you please confirm if VITAMIN D3 extracted from sheep's wool is Halal?

بِسْمِ اللهِ الرَّحْمنِ الرَّحِيْم

In the name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful.

Answer:

Assalamu Alaikum Wa Rahmatullahi Wa Barakaatuh,

Vitamin D3 is made from a substance known as lanolin which is extracted from the wool sheared from living sheep

Thus, such Vitamin D3 is halal.[1]

 

Only Allah Ta'ala knows best

Written by Maulana Muddasser Dhedhy

Checked and approved by Ustadha Sabrina al-Faarsiyyah

Darul Ifta Birmingham

 

 

 

 

 


[1] وَأَمَّا شَعْرُ الْمَيْتَةِ وَعَظْمُهَا وَصُوفُهَا وَقَرْنُهَا فَلَا بَأْسَ بِالِانْتِفَاعِ بِهَا وَبَيْعُ ذَلِكَ كُلِّهِ جَائِزٌ (الفتاوى الهندية ج 3 ص 124. دار الكتب العلمية)

(وَأَمَّا) الْأَجْزَاءُ الَّتِي لَا دَمَ فِيهَا فَإِنْ كَانَتْ صُلْبَةً كَالْقَرْنِ وَالْعَظْمِ وَالسِّنِّ وَالْحَافِرِ، وَالْخُفِّ وَالظِّلْفِ وَالشَّعْرِ وَالصُّوفِ، وَالْعَصَبِ وَالْإِنْفَحَةِ الصُّلْبَةِ، فَلَيْسَتْ بِنَجِسَةٍ عِنْدَ أَصْحَابِنَا. (بدائع الصنائع ج 1 ص 370. دار الكتب العلمية)

Comments are closed.