Is Spirit Vinegar Halal

Fatwa ID: 02969

Answered by:  Maulana Muhammad Adnan

Question:

Assalamu Alaikum Wa Rahmatullah

Is spirit vinegar halal?
It seems to be an ingredient in many food products and no matter how much I search, there is no definite answer.
There is no way to tell how spirit vinegar was made when it is just an ingredient in food products. Examples include ketchup, Mayonaise, salad dressings and even some bread types.

Answer:

بسم الله الرحمن الرحيم

In the name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful.

 

Vinegar is permitted even if its origin is spirits or wine, and even if it did not transform by itself but required an external agent.

(Radd al-Muhtar)

 

Only Allah Ta'ala knows best

Written by Maulana Muhammad Adnan

Checked and approved by Mufti Mohammed Tosir Miah

Darul Ifta Birmingham

 

Comments are closed.