What is Halal gelatine?

Fatwa ID: 03238

Answered by: Mufti Javed ibn Nazir Kachhalia​

 

Question

 

What is Halal gelatine?

 

بِسْمِ اللهِ الرَّحْمنِ الرَّحِيْم

In the name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful 

Answer:

 

If gelatine is made from pork or any other animal upon which Allah’s name has not been mentioned then they are forbidden also.

Gelatine is a protein obtained by partial hydrolysis of animal collagenous tissues such as skin, tendons, ligaments, bones, cartilage and hooves. Generally, skin and bones of pigs and calves are used for products of food and medicine. (Muslim Food guide)

In regards to your question, if gelatine is derived from haraam sources namely pigs or any other animal upon which Allah’s name has not been mentioned, it is not permissible to use it. The gelatine, which is commonly found in the production of sweets and jellies, are derived mainly from pigs, thus, it will be unlawful to consume.

 

In ‘Ahsanul Fatawa’ it's written:

  • Firstly, it’s not necessary that the Gelatine /Jelly is derived from Haraam animals or animals upon which Allah’s name has not been mentioned. It can also be derived from tree leaves
  • Secondly, If it’s been made from skin, it’s not necessary that the animal wasn’t slaughtered according to Shariah. It might have been slaughtered according to Shariah (besides swine and pig). (Ahsanul Fatawa, Vol 8, Pg 128, Saeed Company)

 

Only Allah knows best.

Written by Mufti Javed ibn Nazir Kachhalia

Checked and approved by Mufti Mohammed Tosir Miah

Darul Ifta Birmingham

 

Comments are closed.