Why Can’t Muslims Eat Pepperoni?

CategoriesFood & Drink [257]

Fatwa ID: 05024

 

Answered by: Maulana Muqtaur Rahman

 

Question 

 

Why can’t Muslims eat pepperoni?

 

 

In the name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful

 

Answer:

 

Pepperoni is an American variation of salami, made from a cured mixture of pork and beef seasoned with paprika or other chili pepper.[1]

 

And it is a well-established rule in Islam that pork and all its products are forbidden based on the Quran.Allah in the Holy Quran mentioned: “He has only forbidden you dead meat and blood and the flesh of swine and that on which any other name has been invoked other than Allah.”[2]

 

Abu Bakr reported Allah’s Messenger as saying, “Nobody which has been nourished with unlawful will enter paradise.”[3]

 

Therefore, it is due to the mixture of pork why pepperoni is not suitable for a halal diet. However, there are halal pepperoni’s available where the pork has been substituted with halal chicken.

 

 

Only Allah knows best

Written by Maulana Muqtaur Rahman

Checked and approved by Mufti Mohammed Tosir Miah

Darul Ifta Birmingham

 

 

 

 

[1] https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pepperoni#cite_note-howfoodworks-1

[2] Surah Al-Baqarah, Ayah 173

[3] Mishkat al-Masabih, Hadith No.2787

 

 

About the author