Alcohol from sugar beet molasses

CategoriesFood & Drink [285]

Fatwa ID: 02693

Answered by: Maulana Tahsin Alam





Is the scenario below halal or haram?

“We can confirm that the alcohol in our remedies is exclusively made from sugar beet molasses.
Alcohol is used in homeopathic preparations as an excipient, it serves the solution of the active ingredients and also the preservation.”


بِسْمِ اللهِ الرَّحْمنِ الرَّحِيْم

In the name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful.




Yes, it will be permissible.[1]


And Allah SWT alone knows best.


Answered by Maulana Tahsin Alam


Checked and approved Mufti Mohammed Tosir Miah


Darul Ifta Birmingham




[1]Imam Marghinani, Al-HidayahSharhBidayatulMubtadi (Karachi: MaktabahBushra, 2014) volume 7 pg. 285.

About the author