Champagne chocolates halal or haram

CategoriesFood & Drink [285]

Fatwa ID: 02493

Answered by: Ustadha Umm Abdullah


Is marc de champagne ingredient in thorntons premium chocolate halal?


بسم الله الرحمن الرحي

Marc de Champagne is a brandy made as a by-product of the Champagne making process by using the discarded seeds and skins. 

Brandy is an alcoholic drink that contains 30%-60% alcohol typically extracted from fermented grapes, apples and other sugary fruits. [1]

Chocolates that contain this ingredient will be haraam (unlawful) to consume.

Only Allah Ta’ala knows best

Ustadha Umm Abdullah

Checked and approved by Mufti Mohammed Tosir Miah

Darul Ifta Birmingham


About the author