Fatwa ID: 05738
Answered by: Maulana Sibghat Ullah
Is Cheddar Cheese halal or haram? If so, why?
In the name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful
Cheddar cheese will be haram or halal based on what ingredients are used to make it. If the ingredients used in the making of cheese are halal then it will be halal and vice versa.
Generally, different ingredients which are used in making cheddar cheese are derived from plants and animals. So, if the ingredients are derived from halal animals and in the halal way (Islamic slaughtering) then it will be allowed to consume such cheese otherwise it will be deemed as haram.
Allah says in Quran:-
Eat the pure things that We have provided for you. (Sura Ta-Ha, Verse 81)
Only Allah knows best.
Written by Maulana Sibghat Ullah
Checked and approved by Mufti Mohammed Tosir Miah
Darul Ifta Birmingham