Fatwa ID: 01436
Answered by Mufti Mohammed Tosir Miah
In the name of Allah, the most Beneficent, the most Merciful.
Before tackling the issue of gelatine one should bear in mind that pork and all its products are forbidden in the Quran. Therefore, if gelatine is made from pork or any other animal upon which Allah’s name has not been mentioned then they are forbidden also.
Allah in the Holy Quran has said: “He has only forbidden you dead meat and blood and the flesh of swine and that on which any other name has been invoked other than Allah.” (Surah Baqarah V.173)
Gelatine is a protein obtained by partial hydrolysis of animal collagenous tissues such as skin, tendons, ligaments, bones, cartilage and hooves. Generally skin and bones of pigs and calves are used for products of food and medicine. (Muslim Food guide)
In regards to your question, if gelatine is derived from haraam sources namely pigs or any other animal upon which Allah’s name has not been mentioned, it is not permissible to use it. The gelatine, which is commonly found in the production of sweets and jellies, are derived mainly from pigs, thus, it will be unlawful to consume.
Gelatine is a cooking process and the way something is cooked doesn't make it lawful. Furthermore, the comparison made by those who say it is lawful with wine when it turns into vinegar not correct as wine is unlawful because of the intoxication. However, when the intoxication is removed and it becomes vinegar it will be permissible to consume.
All parts of the body of a pig is filthy and impure, therefore, the conclusion we can come to is that it is strictly forbidden to consume flesh of pigs and also food items which have pork gelatine inside them.
I will finish by mentioning some hadiths regarding the severity of eating something unlawful and haraam. Saaiduna Abu Bakr Radiallahu Anhu narrated that the Prophet of Allah said “That body will not enter Paradise which has been nourished with Haram” (Sunan Baihaqi)
Saaiduna Ka`b Bin Ujrah narrates that the Prophet of Allah said, “A body nourished with Haram will not enter Jannah”. (Sunan Tirmizi)
Saaiduna Jabir Bin Abdullah narrates that the Prophet of Allah said, “That flesh will not enter Paradise which has grown from Haram, and all that flesh which has grown from Haram, the fire (of hell) is more worthy of it.” (Musnad Ahmad, Sunan Darimi & Sunan Baihaqi)
Only Allah Knows Best
Mohammed Tosir Miah
Darul Ifta Birmingham.