Would It Be Permissible To Consume a De-Alcoholized Drink

CategoriesFood & Drink [290]

Fatwa ID: 06189

 

Answered by: Shaykh Ahmed bin Mohamed Umarji

 

Question:

 

Assalamualaikum Have been asked regarding the drink above. It is a de-alcoholized drink. the alcoholic content is less than or equal to 0.05 per cent. Would it be halal to consume?

 

 

In the name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful

 

Answer:

 

You will have to check if the alcohol is derived from grapes or dates. If the alcohol is derived from grapes or dates, it will be Haram even if it is a small amount like .0.5%.1

 

 

Only Allah knows best

Written by Shaykh Ahmed bin Mohamed Umarji

Checked and approved by Mufti Mohammed Tosir Miah

Darul Ifta Birmingham

 

 

 

 

 

 

1 (وأمّا) المُعَتَّقُ المُسْكِرُ فَيَحِلُّ شُرْبُهُ لِلتَّداوِي واسْتِمْراءِ الطَّعامِ والتَّقَوِّي عَلى الطّاعَةِ عِنْدَ أبِي حَنِيفَةَ وأبِي يُوسُفَ – ورَوى مُحَمَّدٌ – أنَّهُ لا يَحِلُّ – الكتاب: بدائع الصنائع في ترتيب الشرائع – الناشر: دار الكتب العلمية مجلد: 5 صفحة:116

 

 

 

 

 

 

About the author