Would the Content Inside a Haram Gelatin-Based Capsule Be Permissible To Consume

CategoriesMedical & Health [65]

Fatwa ID: 05557

Answered by: Alimah Safiyya-Maryam Ahmed

 

Question:

 

Would the content inside a haram gelatin-based capsule be permissible to consume, if the medication is removed? Or will traces of Haraam remain?

 

 

In the name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful

 

Answer:

 

Firstly, one must never remove medicine that is encased inside a capsule without the advice of a healthcare professional as this may affect the usage or even prove to be dangerous. This is because capsules are designed to release their active ingredients at a specific rate and in a specific location.

 

Secondly, impurity is not transferred from a dry impure item to a dry pure item so in principle, it would be allowed from a Fiqh perspective.

 

Finally, it is advised to speak to a doctor and/or pharmacist regarding halal/ vegetarian alternatives that may be available.

 

 

Only Allah knows best

Written by Alimah Safiyya-Maryam Ahmed

Checked and approved by Mufti Mohammed Tosir Miah

Darul Ifta Birmingham

 

 

 

https://www.nhs.uk/conditions/problems-swallowing-pills/

( قوله : نام ) أي : فعرق،وقوله : أومشى : أي : وقدمهمبتلة . ( قوله : علىنجاسة ) أي : يابسةلمافيمتنالملتقىلو وضعثوبارطباعلىماطينبطيننجسجاف لاينجس،قال الشارح : لأنبالجفافتنجذبرطوبةالثوبمنغيرعكسبخلافماإذاكانالطينرطبا . اهـ .( قوله : إنظهرعينها ) المرادبالعينمايشملالأثر ; لأنهدليلعلىوجودهالوعبربهكمافينورالإيضاحلكانأولى . ( قوله : تنجس ) أي : فيعتبرفيهالقدرالمانعكمامرفيمحله (رد المحتار, باب الانجاس, صفحة ٥٦٠, دار عالم الكتب)

 

 

 

About the author