Are Oysters Halal

CategoriesFood & Drink [257]

Fatwa ID: 04948

 

Answered by: Maulana Yusuf Khan

 

Question:

 

Is oyster halal and what about fish and seafood?

 

 

In the name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful

 

Answer:

 

Sea creatures which are termed as fish ‘samak’ are permissible to consume. Oysters, crabs, etc are not classified as fish hence they are haram.

 

 

Only Allah knows best

Written by Maulana Yusuf Khan

Checked and approved by Mufti Mohammed Tosir Miah

Darul Ifta Birmingham

 

 

About the author