E471

CategoriesFood & Drink [257]

 

I wanted to know whether e471 was permissible, even if the packet of foodstuff which the e471 was contained in did not say suitable for vegetarians, because apparently there is a difference of opinion regarding if e471, even from animal sources, is haram?

 

In the name of Allah, Most Compassionate, Most Merciful.

 

E471 is normally manufactured from Soya bean oil however it is also produced from animal sources. Therefore if it is not from an animal source then it will be considered halal and may be consumed. If there is any doubt regarding its origin and it is not stated on the packaging then it should be avoided. The Prophet (sallal lahu alayhi wa sallam) said, “Leave those things which create doubts in your mind and adopt that which does not create any doubt in your mind.” (Tirmidhi, 206)

 

And Allah knows best.

 

Sayeedur Rahman

 

Darul Ifta Birmingham

About the author