What types of fish Hanafis are allowed and not allowed to eat?

CategoriesFood & Drink [288]

Fatwa ID: 02688

Answered by: Maulana Imran Mughal​




I wanted to know what types of fish Hanafis are allowed and not allowed to eat?
I would really appreciate the answer


بِسْمِ اللهِ الرَّحْمنِ الرَّحِيْم

In the name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful.

Anything in the Hanafi mathab that is classified as fish, are allowed to be eaten.

Those marine animals that are not technically classified as fish are not allowed to be eaten.

A few fish which Hanafis are allowed to eat are:

Tuna, sardine and salmon, as well as many others.

A few of those that are not allowed to be eaten are:

Whale, shrimp, lobster, sea crab, crayfish, squids, octopus, oyster, sea snails etc.

It will be permitted to eat a fish even without slaughtering it according to the rules of Shariah. However, a fish that dies naturally without an external cause and begins to float on the surface of the water (Samak al-Tafi) is also considered Haram.


And Allah SWT alone knows best.


Answered by Maulana Imran Mughal

Checked and approved Mufti Mohammed Tosir Miah

Darul Ifta Birmingham


About the author