73 Sects in Islam

Categories'Aqaid [181]

What are the 73 Sects in Islam?

In the name of Allah, the most Beneficent, the most Merciful.


The Prophet of Allah Sallallahu Alahi Wasalam said, “My Ummah will be divided into 73 sects.  All of them will be in the fire except one.”  The people asked him, “And which one will that be?” He replied, “The one that follows what I and my companions are upon right now.”  (Sunan Tirmizi & Mishkaatul Masaabeeh p.30 v.1)

Out of the 73 sects there are 8 main groups:

  1. Mutazilah
  2. Shia
  3. Khawarij
  4. Murjiyah
  5. Najariyah
  6. Jabariyah
  7. Mushabiha
  8. Naajiyah

Each of the 8 main sects are split up into further branches:

Mutazilah have 20 branches.  Shia’s have 22.  Khawarij have 20.  Murjiyah have 5.  Najariyah have 3.  Jabariyah, Mushabihah and Najiyaah have one each.

Mutazilah are those that believe that a person does all his actions by himself and there is no say of Allah (SWA) on this.  They also believe that one will not be able to see Allah (SWA) on the Day of Judgement and that it is compulsory upon Allah to reward his devout and pious servants and punish his disobedient servants.

Murjiyah are those who believe that when a person says his Kalimah once he will be saved irrespective of how sinful he is.

Najariyah reject the attributes of Allah (SWA) and the speech of Allah (SWA) is like other humans.

Jabariyah believe that humans do not have a say on their actions.

Mushabihah say that Allah (SWA) like humans, has body parts.

Shias follow the religious guidance of the Prophet of Allah Sallallahu Alahi Wasalams’ family (the Ahl al-Bayt) or his descendants known as Shia Imams like Saaiduna Ali Radiallahu Anhu, Saaiduna Hasan and Husain Radiallahu Anhuma etc…

Khawarij are those who initially supported Saaiduna Ali Radiallahu Anhu but later rejected him.

Najiyah are the Ahlus Sunnah Wal-Jamaat.

(Extracted from Mazaahirul Haqq p.232 – p.233 v.1)

Only Allah Knows Best

Mohammed Tosir Miah

Darul Ifta Birmingham.

About the author