A Few General Questions about Sadaqah

CategoriesZakah [234]

Fatwa ID: 03991

Answered by: Maulana Imran Mughal



Is it alright to say that Sadaqah is divided into 2, first which is Waajibah, and second which is Naafilah?

Zakat and Sadaqatul-Fitr fall in the first one and it is due to only the Fuqarah.

Second is any general giving, whether be it a hibah, gift, or spending on the family.

Also, the Prophet (peace be upon him)  and his family is not allowed to receive Sadaqah Waajibah but are allowed to receive Sadaqah Naafilah?

(For the giver, it will be like giving a sadaqah Naafila, and the family of the Prophet (saw) will take it as hibah)


بِسْمِ اللهِ الرَّحْمنِ الرَّحِيْم

In the name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful.




Sadaqah is a general term that means “anything given with the hope of attaining reward from Allah.”[1]

Monetary Sadaqah can be categorized in three ways:

  1. Fard Sadaqah: This is what we commonly know as Zakat.
  2. Wajib Sadaqah: This is known as Sadaqatul-Fitr.
  3. Voluntary Sadaqah: This includes everything else.

With regards to the first two types, they can only be given to the eight recipients mentioned in the following verse of the Quran, “Zakat expenditures are only for the poor and for the needy and for those employed to collect [zakat] and for bringing hearts together [for Islam] and for freeing captives [or slaves] and for those in debt and for the cause of Allah and for the [stranded] traveler – an obligation [imposed] by Allah. And Allah is Knowing and Wise.”[2]


The family of the Prophet (peace be upon him) can receive Sadaqah Naafilah.[3]


Only Allāh Ta’ālā knows best

Written by Maulana  Imran Mughal

Checked and approved by Mufti Mohammed Tosir Miah

Dārul Iftā Birmingham






[1]Sharif Jurjani, Al-Tareefaat(Cairo: Dar al-Fadilah), 113.


[2]Quran: 9:60.


[3]Imam Marghaynani, Al-Hidaya(Karachi: Maktabah al-Bushra, 2014), 2:75.




About the author