Are Oysters Halal

CategoriesFood & Drink [285]

Fatwa ID: 04948


Answered by: Maulana Yusuf Khan




Is oyster halal and what about fish and seafood?



In the name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful




Sea creatures which are termed as fish ‘samak’ are permissible to consume. Oysters, crabs, etc are not classified as fish hence they are haram.



Only Allah knows best

Written by Maulana Yusuf Khan

Checked and approved by Mufti Mohammed Tosir Miah

Darul Ifta Birmingham



About the author