Is Blue #2 halal?
بِسْمِ اللهِ الرَّحْمنِ الرَّحِيْم
In the name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful
Blue #2 is an ingredient known as Indigo Carmine which is an organic salt derived from indigo dye [which is blue]. This appears to be different from Carmine or Cochineal which is derived from scale insects. Therefore, if it can be verified that Blue #2 is not derived from insects but rather from plants, it would be permissible to eat.
Only Allah knows best
Written by Maulana Mustafa Umar
Checked and approved by Mufti Mohammed Tosir Miah
Darul Ifta Birmingham