Is Cuttlefish Ink Halal

CategoriesFood & Drink [290]

Fatwa ID: 04446

Answered by: Maulana Muqtaur Rahman




Assalamu Alaikum, is Cuttlefish ink halal? 



بِسْمِ اللهِ الرَّحْمنِ الرَّحِيْم

In the name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful






Cuttlefish is a sea creature with eight arms and two tentacles that has a wide, flat shell inside its body and lives in waters near the coast and near the bottom of the sea.[1]


It is not permissible to consume cuttlefish (and/or its ink) because the only seafood that is halal according to the Hanafi school of Fiqh, is fish (Samak).[2]


Cuttlefish are not considered as Samak by the overwhelming scholars of the Hanafi Madhab. However, there are a group of scholars who consider it as a fish (Samak) and hence given the permissibility of its consumption.[3]


Therefore, it will be encouraged to abstain from such consumptions which have not only the possibility of being disliked/makrooh but rather the chance of being impermissible/haram.



Only Allah knows best

Written by Maulana Muqtaur Rahman

Checked and approved by Mufti MohammedTosir Miah

Darul Ifta Birmingham



[1] Cambridge Dictionary

[2]Raddul-Muhtar, v.6 pg.306, Darul-Fikr

[3]Fiqhi-Maqalat, v.3 pg.217-221



About the author