White-wine vinegar

CategoriesFood & Drink [287]
Is it permissible to eat foods which contain white wine vinegar?

In the name of Allah, the most Beneficent, the most Merciful


Two successive microbial processes produce vinegar-

  1. An alcoholic fermentation (which is Haraam).
  2. An oxidation of alcohol by aceto bacter, when it’s molecular structure is changed and it ceases to be an intoxicant.

Other varieties of vinegar are produced from beetroot, tarragon and alcoholic spirits. In vinegar the intoxicating factor is destroyed by the microbial process of oxidation and, therefore, it becomes permissible (i.e. halal). (Muslim Food Guide – Page 26/27)

In conclusion, food which contain white wine vinegar (produced by oxidation of alcohol) will be permissible.

Allah knows best.

Mohammed Tosir Miah

Darul Ifta Birmingham.

About the author