Is Apple Cider Halal?

Fatwa ID: 03464

Answered by: Maulana Abdul Muktader​

Question

Is apple cider halal?

 

بِسْمِ اللهِ الرَّحْمنِ الرَّحِيْم

In the name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful

 

Answer:

 

The Cambridge dictionary defines cider as, 'an alcoholic drink made from apples'.

 

Based on this, the consumption of Apple cider is impermissible.

يَا أَيُّهَا الَّذِينَ آمَنُوا إِنَّمَا الْخَمْرُ وَالْمَيْسِرُ وَالْأَنصَابُ وَالْأَزْلَامُ رِجْسٌ مِّنْ عَمَلِ الشَّيْطَانِ فَاجْتَنِبُوهُ لَعَلَّكُمْ تُفْلِحُونَ – 5:90

'O you who believe, indeed, intoxicants, gambling, [sacrificing on] stone alters [to other than Allah], and divining arrows are but defilement from the work of Satan, so avoid it that you may be successful'.

 

The Prophet (peace and blessings of Allah be upon him) said: “Every intoxicant is haram[1].”

 

Only Allah knows best

Written by Maulana Abdul Muktader

Checked and approved by Mufti Mohammed Tosir Miah

Darul Ifta Birmingham

 

 


[1] Muslim (5219)

Comments are closed.