Is Beef Gelatin halal?

Fatwa ID: 04173

Answered by: Maulana Nabil Khan

 

Question:

Is beef gelatin halal?

 

بِسْمِ اللهِ الرَّحْمنِ الرَّحِيْم

In the name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful

 

Answer:

 

If the cow had been slaughtered according to Shariah, then there would be no harm in eating it and it would be considered halal. However, if the cow was not slaughtered according to the rules of Shariah then the gelatin will be haram.

 

Some scholars have argued that Qalb Al-Mahiyah (metamorphosis) has occurred in the production of gelatin. However, many senior scholars have not considered it to follow all of the conditions. It is best to hold caution and refrain from in this case.

 

[1]

Only Allah knows best

Written by Maulana Nabil Khan

Checked and approved by Mufti Mohammed Tosir Miah

Darul Ifta Birmingham

 

 


[1] Ask Imam Fatwa: # 26013

Al-Fatawa Al-Hindiyyah

 

 

Comments are closed.