Is Gelatine Halal

Fatwa ID: 04372

Answered by: Imam Abdul-Malik Sheikh

 

Question

 

TIs Gelatine Halaal?

 

بِسْمِ اللهِ الرَّحْمنِ الرَّحِيْم

In the name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful

 

Answer:

 

Gelatine is extracted from boiled bones, skins, and tendons of animals. When the gelatine is dissolved in boiling water and then cooled it turns into a jelly-like form that is used to thicken and stabilize desserts such as jelly, custard, and fillings.

 

If the gelatine is extracted from lawful to consume animals that have been lawfully slaughtered, then there is no doubt that this is permissible.

 

Our scholars are of the view that if an impure substance undergoes changes in its characteristics and becomes a completely new substance then the ruling changes accordingly. An example of this is like wine when it becomes vinegar.

 

Based on the above, if the gelatine from an unlawful animal undergoes a complete change, then it will be permissible to consume and use.

 

However, if the gelatine does not undergo a complete change in its nature and characteristics then it will not be permissible.

 

My advice would be to avoid such products as there are plenty of Halal alternatives available. The Messenger of Allāhﷺ said:

“Verily, the lawful is clear and the unlawful is clear, and between the two of them are doubtful matters about which many people do not know. Thus, he who avoids doubtful matters clears himself in regard to his religion and his honor, and he who falls into doubtful matters will fall into the unlawful…” (Reported by al-Bukhari and Muslim)

 

Reference:

Al-Tajrīd Lil Qudūri Vol.2 p.755, Dar al-Salām, Cairo

Radd al-Muhtār of Ibn Ābidin, Vol.1 p,316, Dār al-Fikr, Beirut

 

 

Only Allah knows best

Written by Imam Abdul-Malik Sheikh

Checked and approved by Mufti Mohammed Tosir Miah

Darul Ifta Birmingham

 

 

Comments are closed.