Stearyl alcohol

Stearyl alcohol

In the name of Allah, the most Beneficent, the most Merciful.

Answer

Pork and all its products are forbidden in the Quran. Therefore, if gelatine is made from pork or any other animal upon which Allah’s name has not been mentioned then they are forbidden also.

Allah (SWA) in the Holy Quran has said: “He has only forbidden you dead meat and blood and the flesh of swine and that on which any other name has been invoked other than Allah.” (Surah Baqarah V.173)

All parts of the body of a pig are filthy and impure, therefore, if stearyl alcohol does contain pork ingredients then it will be strictly forbidden to consume it.

I will finish by mentioning some hadiths regarding the severity of eating something unlawful and haraam. Saaiduna Abu Bakr Radiallahu Anhu narrated that the Prophet of Allah Sallallahu Alahi Wasalam said “That body will not enter Paradise which has been nourished with Haram” (Sunan Baihaqi)

Saaiduna Ka`b Bin Ujrah narrates that the Prophet of Allah Sallallahu Alahi Wasalam said, “A body nourished with Haram will not enter Jannah”. (Sunan Tirmizi)

Saaiduna Jabir Bin Abdullah Radiallahu Anhu narrates that the Prophet of Allah Sallallahu Alahi Wasalam said, “That flesh will not enter Paradise which has grown from Haram, and all that flesh which has grown from Haram, the fire (of hell) is more worthy of it.” (Musnad Ahmad, Sunan Darimi & Sunan Baihaqi)

Only Allah Knows Best

Mohammed Tosir Miah

Darul Ifta Birmingham.

 

Comments are closed.