Fatwa ID: 02942
Answered by: Maulana Shadman Ahmed
Assalamu Alaikum Wa Rahmatullah
What is the ruling on beef gelatin?
بسم الله الرحمن الرحيم
In the name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful.
While some scholars claim that tabdīl al-māhiyyah (altering of the essence) takes place when making gelatin, the majority do not find that it has. They, therefore, find the default ruling on the consumption of gelatin to be permissible only if it is made from a ḥalāl source (for example gelatin from fish or gelatin from a cow that was properly slaughtered), and not from a ḥarām source (for example gelatin from pig) or a doubtful source (gelatin from cow where the method of killing is unknown).
Only Allah knows best
Written by Maulana Shadman Ahmed
Checked and approved by Mufti Mohammed Tosir Miah
Darul Ifta Birmingham