Why Is Grape Wine Haram in Islam and Grapes Halal

CategoriesFood & Drink [257]

Fatwa ID: 05054

 

Answered by: Maulana Sibghat Ullah

 

Question

 

Why is grape wine haram in Islam and grapes halal?

 

 

In the name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful

Answer:

 

Grapes are halal because they are pure and healthy for the body. Allah says in Quran:

He produces for you corn, olives, date-palms, grapes, and every kind of fruit: verily in this is a sign for those who give thought. [i]

 

Allah says

Then eat of what Allah has provided for you [which is] lawful and good. And be grateful for the favor of Allah, if it is [indeed] Him that you worship.

 

Wine is haram because of the clear verse in Quran.

Allah says

O ye who believe! Intoxicants and gambling, (dedication of) stones, and (divination by) arrows, are an abomination of Satan’s handwork so abstain from it, that you may prosper.[ii]

 

As we can see that alcohol is considered as shaitan’s handwork which means it is the root of evil and for this reason, Allah has prohibited it.

 

Hence, grapes are halal and wine is haram.

 

Only Allah knows best.

Written by Maulana Sibghat Ullah

Checked and approved by Mufti Mohammed Tosir Miah

Darul Ifta Birmingham

 

[i] Quran, Sura Nahl, Verse 11

[ii] Quran, Sura Maaidah Verse 90

 

About the author