Are Locusts Halal?

CategoriesFood & Drink [273]Miscellaneous [618]Tagged , , , , ,

Fatwa ID: 03594

Answered by: Maulana Mohammed Kamran Abid

 

Question

Are insects like locusts and grasshoppers considered halal?

 

بِسْمِ اللهِ الرَّحْمنِ الرَّحِيْم

In the name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful

 

Answer:

Grasshoppers are called locusts when they are in the swarming phase.[1] It has been narrated on the authority of Abdullah bin Umar that the Messenger of Allah (saw) said, “Two kinds of dead meat have been permitted to us: fish and locusts.”[2] Therefore, locusts and grasshoppers are permissible to consume.

Locust pizza
Locust pizza

 

Only Allah knows best

Written by Maulana Mohammed Kamran Abid

Checked and approved by Mufti Mohammed Tosir Miah

Darul Ifta Birmingham

 


[1] https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Locust

[2] عَنْ عَبْدِ اللَّهِ بْنِ عُمَرَ، أَنَّ رَسُولَ اللَّهِ ـ صلى الله عليه وسلم ـ قَالَ  " أُحِلَّتْ لَنَا مَيْتَتَانِ الْحُوتُ وَالْجَرَادُ " (Sunan Ibn Majah, vol. 4, Book 28, Hadith 3218, Darussalam),

قَالَ – رَحِمَهُ اللَّهُ -: (وَحَلَّ بِلَا ذَكَاةٍ كَالْجَرَادِ) يَعْنِي يَحِلُّ السَّمَكُ بِلَا ذَكَاةٍ كَالْجَرَادِ لِمَا رَوَيْنَا (Al-Bahr Ar-Raiq, vol. 8, pg. 196, Darul Kitab al-Islami)

 

About the author