Is Hydrolyzed Beef Gelatine Halal

CategoriesFood & Drink [273]

Fatwa ID: 05538

 

Answered by: Alimah Sadmira Muric

 

Question:

 

Is hydrolyzed beef gelatine halal?

 

 

In the name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful

 

Answer:

 

It is mentioned in the book “The Fiqh of Food and Drinks” that food additives, preservatives, flavours, colourings etc such as glycerine, gelatine, lactose etc it is halal to consume them if they come from[1]:

 

  1. the animal which is lawful to eat
  2. the animal which has been slaughtered according to the sharia
  3. the products have not been mixed with an unlawful mixture of food and drinks meaning the products above have not been mixed with for example alcohol or with other unlawful food.

 

Understanding the above the hydrolyzed gelatine will not be halal to consume if these three conditions have not been met.

 

 

Only Allah knows best

Written by Alimah Sadmira Muric

Checked and approved by Mufti Mohammed Tosir Miah

Darul Ifta Birmingham

 

 

 

[1] The Fiqh of Food and Drinks, Ad-Duha London 2009, page 24

 

 

About the author