Is Beef Gelatin after processing permissible?

CategoriesFood & Drink [265]

Fatwa ID: 03051

Answered by:  Maulana Muqtaur Rahman

Question:

Assalamu Alaikum Wa Rahmatullah

I have been told from a friend we can eat beef gelatine in sweets such as moam etc the reason given is because the process the gelatine goes through leaves no trace of beef left….  but my argument was the beef gelatine never came from an animal that has zabiha  done

what is the opinion of the hanafi madhab please?

Answer:

بسم الله الرحمن الرحيم

In the name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful.

Assalamualaikum Wa Rahmatullahi Wa Barakaatuh

While some scholars claim that tabdīl al-māhiyyah (altering of the essence) takes place when making gelatin, the majority do not find that it has. They, therefore, find the default ruling on the consumption of gelatin to be permissible only if it is made from a ḥalāl source (for example gelatin from fish or gelatin from a cow that was properly slaughtered), and not from a ḥarām source (for example gelatin from pig) or a doubtful source (gelatin from cow where the method of killing is unknown).

For further detail please see the fatwa on beef gelatin in the link below:

https://daruliftabirmingham.co.uk/what-is-the-ruling-on-beef-gelatin/

 

Only Allah knows best

Written by Maulana Muqtaur Rahman

Checked and approved by Mufti Mohammed Tosir Miah

Darul Ifta Birmingham

About the author