Is ‘Monster Energy Drink’ Halal

CategoriesFood & Drink [272]

Fatwa ID: 05488

Answered by: Shaykh Shafiur Rahman

 

Question:

 

My question is if ‘monster energy drink’ is halal or not,

is there anything haram in the ingredients or is it halal to drink?

 

 

In the name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful

 

Answer:

 

In principle, food (except meat) and drinks generally are all deemed to be permissible in the first instance unless it is something that has been prohibited by shari’a because Allah explained to us those things that are haram; as Allah says: {…while He has explained in detail to you what He has forbidden you, excepting that to which you are compelled.} [Quran 6:119]”

 

The company lists the ingredients for a monster energy drink on its website https://www.monsterenergy.com/products/monster-energy

 

I cannot see any haram ingredients in the list and therefore it will be permissible to drink. However, as with all food and drinks we should try to avoid them in quantities and regularity that may cause clear harm to our health.

 

 

Written by Shaykh Shafiur Rahman

Checked and approved by Mufti Mohammed Tosir Miah

Darul Ifta Birmingham

 

 

 

 

About the author