Is the Viennetta Ice Cream Halal

CategoriesFood & Drink [317]

Fatwa ID: 07008

 

Answered by: Muftiyah Aabedah Khatun

 

Question:

 

Is the Viennetta ice cream halal? It does not say Suitable for vegetarians.

 

 

In the name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful

 

Answer:

 

Viennetta ice cream is not halal due to a particular doubtful ingredient it contains which is called “emulsifiers (mono – and diglycerides of fatty acids, ammonium phosphatides)”.

 

Emulsifiers help products combine which usually cannot combine, for example oil and water. Emulsifiers can be derived from the fat of haram animals such as pork or naturally from plants. In the case of the animal it would make the food haram and if it is from plants then the food would be halal. This would be known by the ‘vegetarian’ or ‘vegan’ sign on the label of food products; any item with this ingredient without the ‘vegetarian’ or ‘vegan’ proves it is haram and therefore contains fat from haram animals.

 

Emulsifiers may not always contain the full list of names and can also come as numbers which are “E471” OR “E442”.

https://www.wallsicecream.com/uk/faq.html

 

 

Only Allah knows best.

Written by Muftiyah Aabedah Khatun

Checked and approved by Mufti Mohammed Tosir Miah

Darul Ifta Birmingham

 

 

 

 

 

 

About the author