Are Grape Seed Oil and Grape Seed Extract Halaal

CategoriesFood & Drink [257]

Fatwa ID: 04169

Answered by: Mufti Muhammad Adnan


Are grape seed oil and grape seed extract halaal? I believe they are by-products of grape winemaking.


In the name of Allah, the Most Beneficent, the Most Merciful




Alcohol/intoxicants made from dates and grapes are haram. Even if it is by-products of the process. If the grapeseed oil is extracted without the alcohol fermentation process involved, it is permissible. (Fathul Mulhim v.3 p.308)



Only Allah knows best

Written by Mufti Muhammad Adnan

Checked and approved by Mufti Mohammed Tosir Miah

Darul Ifta Birmingham


About the author